Porcupine and Cactus (Hardcover)

Pre-Order Now Badge
Porcupine and Cactus By Katie Frawley, Alex Willmore (Illustrator) Cover Image

Porcupine and Cactus (Hardcover)

By Katie Frawley, Alex Willmore (Illustrator)

$18.99


Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
"A silly, entertaining tale of a very prickly friendship." --Kirkus

A prickly tale about an unlikely friendship between a hopeful and chatty porcupine who attempts to befriend a cactus in the desert. Perfect for fans of I Need a Hug by Aaron Blabey and Goodnight Already by Jory John!


On a long and lonely desert walk, chatty and outgoing Porcupine discovers quiet Cactus and couldn’t be happier. These two spiky specimens are sure to have tons in common! But when Porcupine tries to get to know his new pal, Cactus doesn’t say a word.

After a miscommunication, Porcupine realizes Cactus is more than shy, he's downright prickly! Will these new buddies manage to mend their friendship?

With witty and humorous text from acclaimed author Katie Frawley and comical and expressive art from award-winning illustrator Alex Willmore, Porcupine and Cactus is a funny and endearing story of two unlikely friends. Perfect for fans of Aaron Blabey, Drew Daywalt, and Jory John.

"Bright, funny, cartoonish illustrations complement the bubbly text as the porcupine . . . Children will delight in the realization that they know more about the cactus than the porcupine does and will laugh out loud at the misunderstandings that ensue." --Kirkus
Katie Frawley is the author of Lighthouse and the Little Boat and Tabitha and Fritz Trade Places. Like Porcupine, she makes great potato salad. Unlike Porcupine, her favorite color is Goose Turd Green. (This is a real color. Katie didn’t make it up, though she wishes she had.) Katie teaches creative writing in sunny South Florida where she lives with her husband, five children, and a scruffy rescue pup named Gus.You can visit Katie Frawley at KatieFrawley.com

Alex Willmore
is an author and bestselling children’s book illustrator. Since he could first hold a pencil, Alex has been drawing characters, bringing each to life with a sense of mischief and fun. After studying Illustration for Children’s Publishing at the North Wales School of Art and Design, he went on to illustrate The Runaway Pea, which was selected for the BookTrust’s 2020 Time to Read Campaign. Alex has won the 2020 Shrewsbury Book Fest award and The FCBG 2020 award for his illustrations in The Runaway Pea, as well as being nominated for the Kate Greenaway Medal and was a finalist in the 2020 Oscar’s Book Prize. His books have been translated into multiple languages. A love of fun storytelling and growing up on 80s cartoons lead Alex to write his own books, which combine captivating characters and quirky exploits, along with a positive moral message. Alex currently lives in his hometown of Northampton with his wife, two sons, and their chihuahua. You can visit Alex Willmore at AlexWillmore.co.uk
Product Details ISBN: 9780593620991
ISBN-10: 0593620992
Publisher: Flamingo Books
Publication Date: June 11th, 2024
Pages: 32
Language: English
"Sometimes the best friend is the one who’s willing to listen. . . Bright, funny, cartoonish illustrations complement the bubbly text as the porcupine enjoys a picnic with the unresponsive cactus, performs magic tricks, and chats on, oblivious . . . Children will delight in the realization that they know more about the cactus than the porcupine does and will laugh out loud at the misunderstandings that ensue. A silly, entertaining tale of a very prickly friendship."
-Kirkus