The Hidden: A Novel (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Badge
The Hidden: A Novel By Melanie Golding Cover Image

The Hidden: A Novel (Hardcover)

$26.99


Usually Ships in 2-5 Days

Staff Reviews


I love anything involving Selkie lore, but this book went way beyond my expectations. Chock full of twists, each one hinting at a darker secret than the last, I was left gasping with each reveal. I highly reccomend the audio book on Libro.fm for a full submersion in the tale. 

— From Amy's Picks

A stunning tale of folkloric suspense for fans of Victor LaValle and Alma Katsufrom the critically acclaimed author of Little Darlings

This “beautifully original thriller . . . of murder, desperation, and the nature of motherhood” puts a spine-tingling twist on the Selkies of Celtic mythology (Christopher Golden, New York Times–bestselling author).


One dark December night, in a small seaside town, a little girl is found abandoned. When her mother finally arrives, authorities release the pair, believing it to be an innocent case of a toddler running off.

Gregor, a seemingly single man, is found bludgeoned and left for dead in his apartment, but the discovery of children’s toys raises more questions than answers.
 
Every night, Ruby gazes into Gregor’s apartment, leading to the discovery of his secret family: his unusually silent daughter and his mentally unstable wife, Constance, who insists that she is descended from the mythological Selkies. She begs Ruby to aid in finding the sealskin that Gregor has hidden from her, making it impossible to return to her people.
 
DS Joanna Harper’s investigation into Gregor’s assault leads her to CCTV footage of the mother-daughter pair from town. Harper realizes she knows the woman almost as well as she knows herself: it’s her estranged daughter, Ruby. No matter the depth of Ruby’s involvement, she knows she will choose her daughter over her career.
 
Steeped in local legend and exploring the depths of what it means to be a mother, Melanie Golding’s newest novel is a stunning tale of folkloric suspense for fans of Victor Lavalle and Alma Katsu.
Melanie Golding is a graduate of the MA program in Creative Writing from Bath Spa University, with distinction. Her occupations have been varied including farmhand, factory worker, childminder, and music teacher. Throughout all of this, because and in spite of it, there was always the writing. In recent years she has won and been shortlisted in several local and national short story competitions. Her first novel, Little Darlings, has been optioned for screen for Free Range Films.
Product Details ISBN: 9781643852973
ISBN-10: 1643852973
Publisher: Crooked Lane Books
Publication Date: November 9th, 2021
Pages: 304
Language: English
Praise for The Hidden:

“Golding smoothly mixes folklore with an insightful exploration of motherhood.”
Publishers Weekly

“As dexterously shape-shifting as the legends it draws from.”
Kirkus Reviews

“Intense and unflinching...irresistible to the last page.”
Foreword Reviews

“A beautifully original thriller. Melanie Golding injects lonely, mournful Celtic myth into a breathless tale of murder, desperation, and the nature of motherhood. The result is seamless, and utterly compelling.”
—Christopher Golden, New York Times bestselling author of Road of Bones and Ararat

“A dark, intense tale that sinks its teeth into the reader and won't let go.”
—Camilla Sten, author of The Lost Village

“A lush, hypnotic page-turner that illuminates the beauty of Selkie mythology and the horror of real monsters. Dark, twisty, and absolutely chilling.”
—Rachel Harrison, author of The Return

“Wonderfully original, full of heart and often suspenseful and surprising, [The Hidden] breathes new life into the thriller genre with its mashup of crime and myth. Golding is a terrific talent who sweeps you off your feet and carries you away on her words. I can't wait to read more from her. I loved this.”
—C. J. Skuse, author of the Sweetpea mystery series

The Hidden is a dark and captivating blend of folktale and thriller. Beautifully written with compelling characters, it grabs you from the very first page. Melanie Golding has crafted a  riveting story difficult to put down and impossible to forget.”
—Damien Angelica Walters, author of The Dead Girls Club

“A modern mythological thriller for those who miss Grimm Brothers fairy tales.”
—Rea Frey, author of Secrets of Our House

Praise for Little Darlings:
“Unforgettable . . . One suspects that the real sorceress here is Golding, whose writing has given a voice to every wronged mother.” 
The New York Times

“Atmospheric and very creepy indeed.”
The Guardian

“A lyrical and atmospheric folktale for the modern age, Little Darlings is a gorgeously crafted story that makes even the grimmest of subjects shine.”
Bustle

“Chilling story, beautiful prose. Little Darlings is stunning.”
—Clare Mackintosh, New York Times bestselling author