Rebel Skies (Hardcover)

Rebel Skies By Ann Sei Lin Cover Image

Rebel Skies (Hardcover)

$18.99


Usually Ships in 2-5 Days
Ann Sei Lin's enchanting and action-packed debut, first in a series, will sweep readers away to an aerial world of magic, danger and political intrigue. Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Lim, Kalynn Bayron and the films of Studio Ghibli.

Kurara has never known any other life than being a servant onboard the Midori, a flying ship serving the military elite of the Mikoshiman Empire, a vast realm of floating cities. Kurara also has a secret — she can make folded paper figures come to life with a flick of her finger. But when the Midori is attacked and Kurara's secret turns out to be a power treasured across the empire, a gut-wrenching escape leads her to the gruff Himura, who takes her under his wing. Under Himura's tutelage, and with the grudging support and friendship of his crew, Kurara learns to hunt shikigami — wild paper spirits sought after by the Princess of Mikoshima.

But what does the princess really want with the shikigami? Are they merely enchanted figures without will or thought, or are they beings with souls and minds of their own? As fractures begin to appear both across the empire and within Kurara's understanding of herself, Kurara will have to decide who she can trust. Her fate, and the fate of her friends — and even the world — may rest on her choice. And time is running out.
ANN SEI LIN is an author and librarian with a love for all things fantasy. Although London is now her home, she spent several years living and working in China, Japan, and is originally from Singapore. She received an undergraduate degree in Japanese Literature and completed an M.A. in Creative Writing, for which she was awarded a Distinction. When not writing, she is studying, gaming or doing origami.
Product Details ISBN: 9781774883983
ISBN-10: 1774883988
Publisher: Tundra Books
Publication Date: February 13th, 2024
Pages: 360
Language: English
Series: Rebel Skies
"The uniqueness of the world created in the story makes this a book adventure fantasy lovers will enjoy." —STARRED REVIEW, Booklist

"Sei Lin expertly weaves themes of longing, grief, and courage among visceral worldbuilding, which is conveyed via intricately detailed prose. Distinctly rendered characters debate nuanced questions of morality against a backdrop of white-knuckle action sequences in this suspenseful series opener." —Publishers Weekly

“A deliciously edgy plot and lingering mysteries will leave readers eager for the sequel.” —Kirkus Reviews

"A ­diverse fantasy adventure about power, responsibility, and hope. Strongly recommended for YA collections." School Library Journal

"A splendid adventure with unusual magic, magicians, and the people who deal with it all!" —Tamora Pierce, author of the Song of the Lioness and Protector of the Small quartets

"Featuring a vivid mythology, spectacular battles and an endlessly surprising heroine, Rebel Skies is as intricate, beautiful and startling as one of the paper spirits Kurara brings to life." —Jonathan Stroud, bestselling author of the Bartimaeus Sequence, Lockwood & Co. and The Outlaws Scarlett & Browne

"A magical debut that reads like a Ghibli film, brimming with imagination, action and heart." —Natasha Ngan, author of Girls of Paper and Fire

"An extraordinary world. Vivid, breath-taking, perfectly executed." —A.F. Steadman, author of Skandar and the Unicorn Thief

"An intricately constructed ode to papercraft and Japanese culture. I fell in love with this world of airships, cumulous whales and floating cities. Pure magic." —Lauren James, CILIP Carnegie Medal–longlisted author of The Loneliest Girl in the Universe