Claire's Picks

Staff Pick Badge
Sword Catcher By Cassandra Clare Cover Image
$30.00
ISBN: 9780525619994
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Del Rey - October 10th, 2023

The Master and Margarita: 50th-Anniversary Edition (Penguin Classics Deluxe Edition) By Mikhail Bulgakov, Richard Pevear (Translated by), Larissa Volokhonsky (Translated by), Boris Fishman (Foreword by), Christopher Conn Askew (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Mikhail Bulgakov, Richard Pevear (Translated by), Larissa Volokhonsky (Translated by), Boris Fishman (Foreword by), Christopher Conn Askew (Illustrator)
$19.00
ISBN: 9780143108276
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Penguin Classics - May 3rd, 2016

Staff Pick Badge
Brave the Wild River: The Untold Story of Two Women Who Mapped the Botany of the Grand Canyon By Melissa L. Sevigny Cover Image
$30.00
ISBN: 9780393868234
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: W. W. Norton & Company - May 23rd, 2023

Staff Pick Badge
Empire of the Vampire By Jay Kristoff, Bon Orthwick (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Jay Kristoff, Bon Orthwick (Illustrator)
$39.00
ISBN: 9781250245281
Availability: Usually Ships in 2-5 Days
Published: St. Martin's Press - September 14th, 2021

Forestborn By Elayne Audrey Becker Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9781250752178
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Tor Teen - August 30th, 2022

Staff Pick Badge
Soil: The Story of a Black Mother's Garden By Camille T. Dungy Cover Image
$28.99
ISBN: 9781982195304
Availability: Usually Ships in 2-5 Days
Published: Simon & Schuster - May 2nd, 2023

This book surprised and moved me in so many ways. I am not a gardener (in fact, I would say I am horrible with any plants) but Dungy writes a beautiful picture of her garden through changing seasons, political climates, and family that I absolutely love. Dungy incorporates history, ecology, science, and memoir into her story. This is an excellent book for readers wanting to get into nature/environmental storytelling, or perhaps to start a garden. Soil was a joy to read!


Staff Pick Badge
Check & Mate By Ali Hazelwood Cover Image
$14.00
ISBN: 9780593619919
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers - November 7th, 2023

Staff Pick Badge
A River of Golden Bones: Book One of the Golden Court By A.K. Mulford Cover Image
$28.99
ISBN: 9780063291423
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Harper Voyager - December 5th, 2023

I absolutely loved this book! This book is for the girls, guys, and theys who have never felt totally comfortable in a single category of identity. Calla grows through this book by exploring her/their own identity by meeting others who inspire them, and by having a community of friends and an excellent lover by their side. Although this book is about wolf-shifters, it is not over the top and is enjoyable to read. This book has everything: fantasy, court politics, estranged identity narrative, and amazing smut. Claire


Staff Pick Badge
Ink Girls By Marieke Nijkamp, Sylvia Bi (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Marieke Nijkamp, Sylvia Bi (Illustrator)
$15.99
ISBN: 9780063027107
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Greenwillow Books - November 21st, 2023

Ink Girls is perfect for a first graphic novel and seasoned readers alike! The dialogue is easy to follow through the stunning illustrations, and details fill every page. If you are a fan of strong female characters, social justice/advocacy, and of the power that words hold in a society, then Ink Girls is for you! I absolutely loved this book!


Staff Pick Badge
The High Mountain Court: A Fantasy Romance Novel (The Five Crowns of Okrith #1) By A.K. Mulford Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780063291621
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Harper Voyager - September 20th, 2022

Perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas and Jennifer L. Armentrout, The High Mountain Court has everything you love in a fantasy romance book: maps, magic, witches, castles, warfare, and smut. This book is full of political intrigue and a spectacular set of diverse characters. Also, each book in the series is from a different POV, so you won't get bored!


Staff Pick Badge
A Fate Inked in Blood: Book One of the Saga of the Unfated By Danielle L. Jensen Cover Image
$29.99
ISBN: 9780593599839
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Del Rey - February 27th, 2024

Staff Pick Badge
Realm of the Blue Mist: A Graphic Novel (The Rema Chronicles #1) By Amy Kim Kibuishi Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9781338115130
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Graphix - April 5th, 2022

Staff Pick Badge
The Asteroid Hunter: A Scientist’s Journey to the Dawn of our Solar System By Dante Lauretta Cover Image
$30.00
ISBN: 9781538722947
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Grand Central Publishing - March 19th, 2024