Caterpillar Summer

Amy suggests:

Caterpillar.jpg

An intriguing middle reader that will appeal to all ages. Cat has gotten used to taking care of her brother, Chicken, who is likely on the spectrum of Autism. So much so, that Cat feels like she isn't allowed to be a kid herself sometimes. The summer they spend with their once estranged grandparents on Gingerbread Island will change everything. I love reading middle readers because it is fascinating to see the world through a child's eyes.

From Bloomsbury:

“This beautifully written, emotional debut perfect for fans of Lynda Mullaly Hunt or Ali Benjamin tells the story a girl, her special needs brother, and the summer they will never forget.

"An engaging, honest book." --Kimberly Brubaker Bradley, Newbery Honor-winning author of The War That Saved My Life


"A beautiful story of family, forgiveness, life on an island, and growing up.”--Kate Messner, author of Breakout and The Seventh Wish


Cat and her brother Chicken have always had a very special bond--Cat is one of the few people who can keep Chicken happy. When he has a "meltdown" she's the one who scratches his back and reads his favorite story. She's the one who knows what Chicken needs. Since their mom has had to work double-hard to keep their family afloat after their father passed away, Cat has been the glue holding her family together. 

But even the strongest glue sometimes struggles to hold. When a summer trip doesn't go according to plan, Cat and Chicken end up spending three weeks with grandparents they never knew. For the first time in years, Cat has the opportunity to be a kid again, and the journey she takes shows that even the most broken or strained relationships can be healed if people take the time to walk in one another's shoes. “